Historic Virginia City, Nevada

This last weekend my Mom and my Aunt came to visit me at college. One of the days that they were here we went to Virginia City, Nevada. Virginia City is a hidden gem outside of Cason City. It’s an old mining town and in the 1800’s it was flooded with miners and their families during the Comstock Load, also known as the “Silver Boom.” So there’s a lot of history there… We pulled up out of the desert road to what appeared a hidden town emerging from the hill side. It looked like an old western town and even some of the newer buildings were designed to fit along with the style. The streets were packed with people, cars, and trucks but we finally found a spot. We paid $7 for our parking place since it wasn’t out on the narrow street. Once I handed the man the money he gave me a ticket that read “Two for one drink ticket at the Bucket of Blood Saloon.” Bucket of Blood Saloon? I thought to myself, this is going to be an interesting day. I think we went into about every shop along both sides of the street (my Mom, Aunt, and I like to see EVERTHING in EVERY store type of shoppers). We walked by a bar called The Old Washoe Club. Out front they had a sign up that displayed the guys from Ghost Hunters and it was signed by them that the Millionaire’s Club of Washoe County was indeed haunted. I was very intrigued by this… They gave tours every hour and I convinced my Mom and  Aunt that it would be a neat experience. The building had so much history and was all original. There was only one room that gave me an uneasy feeling, it was known as “Room 12” or “Red Room”. That was the only room that people have felt a demonic presence in. I’ll admit that it did have a different feel to it and the temperature dropped considerably when you walked in. The entire tour I just tried to give off the vibe that I wanted nothing to do with the spirits and I would not be a medium for them. I don’t want to spill all the beans about this place but I would definitely recommend going to this gem known as Virginia City.  

Valley lookout

Outside the Millionaire’s Club

Inside the Millionaire’s Club

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

Leave a Reply

